A recent study found that almost 90% of teenagers admit to texting and driving even though they know it is dangerous. Texting draws the driver’s focus away from the road and puts them and other drivers in danger. When a driver is texting, he or she is less likely to be aware of surroundings, whether on the highway or in a neighborhood.
In Alabama, it is strictly prohibited to use a cell phone to send a text message, email, or other written form of communication while behind the wheel of a moving car. To make a phone call, a driver must be using a hands-free device. The law excludes “reading, selecting or entering a telephone number or name in a cell or wireless telephone or communication device for the purpose of making a telephone call.” If you have any confusion about what is permitted and what is not, it is better to wait until you reach your destination.
If you are caught texting and driving, you will be charged $25 for the first offense, $50 for the second, and $75 for the third. You will also receive 2 points on your driver’s license for the offense.
Anyone who has been in a car wreck should immediately speak with the Huntsville car wreck lawyers at Hodges Trial Lawyers, P.C. Our legal team will help you manage the aftermath of a car wreck and obtain the compensation you deserve. Call us today at 256-539-3110 or contact us online for a free consultation. With offices in Huntsville and Athens, Alabama, we serve clients throughout North Alabama, Madison County, Limestone County, Marshall County, Jackson County, Morgan County, and Lauderdale County.